Shreveport Mudbugs are the Robertson Cup Champions

May 18, 2018

The Shreveport Mudbugs came from behind early to edge out the Minot Minotauros, 2-1 to capture the Robertson Cup Championship.

Minot grabbed the early lead at 9:31 of the 1st period when Nolan Sawchuk shot in his fifth goal from the left wing circle giving the Tauros a 1-0 lead. Minot led in SOG, 8-6 after one period of play.

The Mudbugs dominated the 2nd period in zone time and were able to tie the game up at 6:17. Brendan VanSweden threw it from the right point and it pin-balled its way into the net for his third tally of the playoffs. Roberts Baranovskis and Nikolai Jenson grabbed the assists on the goal. Bugs led in SOG, 16-10 after two periods of play.
The game stayed tied in the third until Cole Quisenberry tipped home the go-ahead goal early in the third period assisted by Dominick Procopio and Ryan Burnett giving Shreveport a 2-1 lead. Jaxon Castor made big saves in the end to preserve the win and the Robertson Cup to the Mudbugs.
Castor finished the game with 15 saves to get the win.