Bugs Blowout Brahmas & Reclaim 1st Place in South Division

Mar 19, 2021

The Shreveport Mudbugs (24-7-5) scored three goals in the first six minutes of the game to lead the way to a blowout win over their arch-rival Lone Star Brahmas, 5-1 Friday night at George’s Pond in Hirsch Coliseum.
The Mudbugs exploded out of the opening gates in the first period. It all started at 4:03 when Jacob OnStott raced around the defense and went five-hole to poke home his fifth tally of the season and give Shreveport the early 1-0 lead. Matt Vermaeten and Gio Procopio picked up the assists on the opening tally. The Bugs then just 36 seconds later caused a huge turnover and it was Vermaeten firing home his fourth goal of the year from the left wing to make it a 2-0 lead in short order. Dawson Sciarrino caused the turnover and earned the only helper. It wasn’t over then because at 5:25 on the PP it was Joe Mack drilling home his eighth goal of the season off a brilliant cross-ice pass from Braiden Dorfman from the right corner which made it a 3-0 commanding lead for the Bugs. Shreveport scored three goals in a span of 1:22. The Bugs led in SOG, 10-9 after a wild and crazy opening period.
Shreveport has struggled especially lately in the 2nd period, but they didn’t let that happen in this contest. Bugs continued to put the pressure as they out-shot the Brahmas, 11-9 in a scoreless middle frame.
The Bugs extended their lead just 29 seconds into the third period when Joe Mack scored his second of the night on a messy play shorthanded to make it a 4-0 contest. Matt Weber earned the only assist. Lone Star got on the board at 9:10 when Quinn Emerson scored on a broken play to make it a 4-1 game and spoiling Arsenii Sergeev’s shutout bid. Shreveport would put the icing on the cake as Garrett Steele fired home his eighth tally of the year from the slot at 10:35 to make it a 5-1 contest.
Sergeev made 29 saves to earn his sixth win in net.

The Bugs and Brahmas will play their last meeting of this regular season tomorrow night at George’s Pond in Hirsch Coliseum. Puck drop is scheduled for 7:11 p.m.